Yummy food onboard SQ 327

I flew back to Singapore about 5 days ago and I finally, finally had good food. On the aeroplane, no less. Woke up at about 6am in the morning to cab to the airport with Keith where we both checked in real fast, and even had time to visit the Lounge (which was pure crap, really.) The flight to Singapore was.. REALLY LONG. Really wanted time to pass quickly & I suppose I really looked forward to the meals (I mean who doesn’t!?)

On SQ 327 they were serving refreshments on the Manchester-Munich leg, and lunch and breakfast on the Munich-Singapore part of the journey. Because there was no one in First from the Manchester-Munich leg, I was given the Business Class menu instead of the First. On the menu were bircher museli with citrus fruits and mint (for starters), a choice of either Thai Fried Noodles with Chicken or Poached Eggs with Hollandaise Sauce, Muffin, Roasted Tomato and Ham (Eggs Benedict I suppose?).

TBH I’m not that big a fan of muesli but I suppose the citrus segments (orange and pink grapefruit) made it refreshingly yummy. So it wasn’t so bad, but I couldn’t finish it cos I had to save space for the fried noodles yum yum – after months of being in Manchester I was looking forward to some REAL fried noodles. Even if it’s from airport catering.


I just realised I deleted the photo of the museli SIGH!!! 😦 Way to go aspiring food blogger Tay 😦 Anyway this is the noodles and honestly it was kinda gloopy – the Thai sauce, whatever it was supposed to be. I thought it’d be spicier though. Wasn’t that great a meal, but I was too happy to be eating CHINESE looking noodles that it didn’t really matter.

_______

I found out later that the Caucasian dude who sat in my cabin on my flight from Munich to Singapore was on the Board of Directors’ of the Airline. How cool is that! I see cool people around. And there was this Asian Ugg Girl behind me. Everytime I see people on the plane I get reaaaaally curious about their life stories. And I always want to see what they choose to eat because.. I’m really nosey like that.


Satay to start with. SQ has been serving this satay for as long as i can remember, but I think the skewers have been growing skinnier in recent years 😀 The peanut sauce is still as uh, peanutty as before, but the chicken was a bit dry. I don’t eat mutton so I didn’t touch the last stick! But it was really comforting to eat satay after so long away from proper Singaporean food.


Lobster salpicon with brunoise of vegetables
We were given a choice between the lobster and fresh malossol caviar, but I didn’t feel like being a risk taker that day so lobster it was! AND IT WAS A VERY, VERY GOOD CHOICE. Frankly I have no idea what the words salpicon and brunoise meant. From wikipedia, Salpicon is a term in French cuisine applied to a preparation consisting of one or more ingredients, diced or minced, and bound with a sauce. The resulting mixture is used to stuff tartlets, canapés, croquettes, rissoles, timbales, vol-au-vents, croustades, eggs, roulades, etc, while Brunoise is a culinary knife cut in which the food item is first julienned and then turned a quarter turn and diced again, producing cubes of a side length of about 3 mm or less on each side. OMG this is one of the best things I’ve tasted in a while. The lobster was sweet and the brunoise of vegetables was a savoury resulting in a complete flavour explosion in the mouth because they just complement each other so well. Honestly though I thought it was EGG MAYO only with vegetables. IKR, way to ruin the atas image of this dish. But this was really the star of lunch! And possibly the entire plane ride, apart from dessert. Writing about it is making me hungry..

Also, I skipped the soups: puree of white bean soup with black truffles, or chinese chicken soup with herbs.


Classic Caesar Salad
The romaine was fresh and crisp (something that is pretty hard to achieve on an aeroplane, I should think!), there was a lot of real bacon in the salad, and shavings of parmesan (something I cannot appreciate – don’t like cheese), the croutons added a real crunch to the salad and the dressing was just right, not overpowering. I would say the dressing might even be too little for the average person, but I was content with it! I really liked the kick in the garlic dressing.


Stir fried beef with sesame and honey, stir fried bamboo shoot, gingko nuts, carrot, bok choy and steamed rice
After the first two winners, I thought that this was going to be the BEST MEAL ever on SQ. But alas it wasn’t meant to be. This wasn’t amazing. It was.. average I suppose. The cuts of beef were good – tender and generally done pretty well and the rice wasn’t too dry.. but the sesame and honey sauce was too salty. And I like salty food. What a pity really, if not it would have been amazing. The bok choy was also overcooked but I suppose they had to microwave the entire dish together so it couldn’t have been helped.


Warm chocolate cake with rum infused raisin and espresso icecream
It was more of a pudding than a cake! But no complaints at all!!! I love steamed pudding, and what more, warm chocolate pudding yummmm. Not a big chocolate fan, but all I can say is, it tasted as good as it looked. Best part was that the chocolate pudding wasn’t too sweet, so the espresso icecream really went very well with it.

______

Keith came over halfway through the flight and we wanted to ‘pop bottles on the ice’ (a la Like a G6) for a certain Genia Kek and take picture of it HAHA but we didn’t in the end lest we piss the stewardess off. The plane ride got pretty turbulent for a while though so it was kinda freaky. I pigged on paprika chips and grapes while watching Hawaii Five-O 😀

Breakfast was: juice to start the day, a fresh fruit plate, choice of cornflakes/birchermuseli, choice of main: wanton mee, glutinous rice wrapped in leaf, eggs benedict, fresh free range scrambled/baked eggs, choice of breakfast pastry, coffee or tea to round things up. I went for the fresh fruit and the main, skipped everything else. I tried the croissant but it was too tough to handle and wasn’t impressive at all, a far cry from the warm and toasted garlic bread they serve usually.


Fruit plate with Iced Mocha (instead of the juice I asked for Iced Mocha)! Well, the fruit plate was very colourful, with quite a variety of fruits so it was not bad I suppose. How horrible can fruits get anyway?!


Wanton Mee
I always choose the soup options for breakfast because soup isn’t readily available on the plane and I’ve had good experiences with the soup options on board before – particularly the fish meat noodles which I had once. This was quite a good choice I would think. I was surprised that the wantons were made from minced prawn though, I thought they would have given a complete shrimp wanton! The egg noodles were a bit soggy, sort of like the kind that Genia would like, but I like my noodles firm to the bite, so the noodles were so-so to me. The broth, as usual was amazing and flavoursome but really what made the meal pretty awesome was the addition of the fried shallots. It’s so strange what little fried pieces of onion can do, but it really made the me enjoy the meal more 🙂 🙂 🙂
_________

The most comprehensive entry on this little blog to date! And I have loads of pictures coming up soon – a great cafe in Manchester, a ramen place in Singapore (still wondering if I should review this), or if I get lazy, just pictorials of food that I’ve been eating at home! 😀

7 thoughts on “Yummy food onboard SQ 327

  1. Pingback: Aeroplane food, again! « I ♥ Food

  2. Pingback: June 2012: SQ 327, MUC-SIN « I ♥ Food

Leave a Reply

